Graduate School Staff

shadow

The Graduate School is located in Main Building 101. Staff include the Vice Provost and Dean of Graduate Studies, the dean's executive staff (associate and assistant deans), dean's administrative staff and student services administrative staff.

Judith H. Langlois

Judith H. Langlois
Senior Vice Provost and Dean of Graduate Studies
512-232-3600
graduatedean@austin.utexas.edu


Executive Staff

Marv Hackert

Marvin L. Hackert
Associate Dean
Director, Faculty Development and Fellowship Programs
512-232-3604
m.hackert@austin.utexas.edu

Terry Kahn

Terry Kahn
Associate Dean
Graduate Student Services
512-232-3634
tkahn@austin.utexas.edu

  • Academic standing: warning status, bars on registration
  • Applications for Doctoral Candidacy and Related Student Matters in Communication, Education, Fine Arts, Liberal Arts, Library and Information Science, Public Affairs, and Social Work
  • Programs of work for Master's Degrees
  • Monitoring Progress of Master's and Doctoral Students
  • Extensions and Leaves of Absence; Continuous Registration; Readmission
  • Grievances and Special Student Problems
  • Petitions for Registration Exceptions
  • Scheduling Final Oral Examinations
  • Non-resident Tuition Entitlement Certification
  • Extension of 6-year Time Limit for Courses Listed on the Program of Work
  • TA, AI, GRA, ITA, IAI Employment
  • 99 hour rule

Bob Wolfkill

Robert T. Wolfkill
Assistant Dean
512-232-3612
wolfkill@austin.utexas.edu

  • Business Affairs
  • Human Resource Services
  • Coordinating Official for National Science Foundation (NSF), Jacob K. Javits and Ford Foundation fellowship programs
  • Administrative liaison to UT Libraries, Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center, Center for American History, Michener Center for Writers, UT Press, and Blanton Museum of Art
  • Compliance Officer

Michelle Broadway

Michelle Broadway
Assistant Dean
512-232-3625
mbroadway@austin.utexas.edu

  • Proposals for New or Changed Degree Programs
  • Graduate Portfolio Programs
  • Program Reviews
  • Publications
  • Communications team
  • Graduate School Catalog
  • Special Projects
  • Classification of Graduate Students

John Dalton

John Dalton
Assistant Dean
512-232-3626
jdalton@austin.utexas.edu

  • Graduate Student Services
  • External Relations
  • Donor and Alumni Relations
  • Prospective Graduate Student Recruitment
  • Special Events
  • Convocation
  • Graduate School student awards assistance
  • Liaison for department recruiting efforts
  • Workshops and presentations on graduate school admissions, funding, etc.
  • Recruitment events and special projects
  • Recruiting travel grants

Pat Ellison

Pat Ellison
Assistant Dean
Associate Director, Graduate and International Admissions Center
512-475-7398
pat.ellison@austin.utexas.edu


Dean's Administrative Staff

Meg Askey

Meg Askey
Director of Communications
512-232-3618
maskey@austin.utexas.edu

  • Webmaster
  • Conceptualize, design, edit, and supervise production off all electronic and print communications
  • Assists with Graduate School's branding and visual concepts

Karen Bancroft

Karen Bancroft
Executive Assistant
512-232-3601

kbancroft@austin.utexas.edu

  • Assistant to Vice Provost and Dean of Graduate Studies Judith H. Langlois
  • Graduate Assembly minutes, committees, arrangements
  • Graduate Studies Committee Roster

Gwen Barton

Gwen Barton
Senior Administrative Associate
512-232-3609
gbarton@austin.utexas.edu

Staff Photo

Lisa Jaskolka
Coordinator, Faculty Development Program
512-232-3608
lisa.jaskolka@austin.utexas.edu

Meg Askey

Elizabeth Korves

Assistant Fellowship Manager
512-232-3603
korvesem@austin.utexas.edu

  • Competitions for and Administration of university fellowships: Pre-emptive, Recruitment, Continuing Fellowships
  • Competitions for and administration of awards from external agencies: Fulbright-Hays Dissertation Research, Luce Scholars, Dolores Zohrab Liebmann Fellowships
  • Graduate Student Professional Development Awards
  • University Fellowships Programs
  • Graduate Student Fellowship Fair
  • Miscellaneous Scholarship Information
  • Campus Visits

Ann Page

Ann Page
Administrative Associate
512-232-3602
annp@austin.utexas.edu

  • Graduate Student Professional Development Awards
  • Fellowship and tuition payments for university fellows
  • Assist Fellowship Manager with pre-emptive and continuing fellowship competitions
  • AAUW Austin Chapter award competition
  • NSF Survey
  • Assist Associate Fellowship Manager with special events

Karen Sacratini

Karen Sacratini
Accountant II
512-232-3610
sacratini@austin.utexas.edu

  • Human Resource Services (appointments, vacation/sick leave records, payroll)
  • Cash deposit processing
  • Telephone, key and long distance access requests
  • Assist with NSF and Jacob K. Javits fellowships programs
  • TA/AI Tuition Benefit Assistance liaison

Rebekah Sylvia

Rebekah Sylvia
Senior Administrative Associate
512-232-3613
rebekah.sylvia@austin.utexas.edu

  • Assistant to Assistant Dean Michelle Broadway
  • Proposals for New or Changed Degree Programs
  • Graduate Portfolio Programs
  • Program Reviews
  • Publications
  • Communications team
  • Graduate School Catalog
  • Special Projects
  • Classification of Graduate Students

Danielle Thoma
Program Coordinator
Recruitment & Outreach
512-232-3624
d.thoma@austin.utexas.edu

  • Assistant to Assistant Dean John Dalton
  • Convocation
  • New Graduate Student Orientation
  • Recruitment
  • Internal and external event support
  • Recruitment Travel Grants
  • Recruitment Materials Requests

Christopher Villalobos

Christopher Villalobos
Administrative Associate
512-232-3614
cmvillalobos@austin.utexas.edu

  • Assistant to Assistant Dean John Dalton
  • Alumni and donor relations
  • Internal and external event support
  • Graduate School Professional Awards
  • Reservations for MAI 101 Conference room

Student Services Administrative Staff

Renee Babcock

Renee Babcock
Degree Evaluator
512-232-3629
r.babcock@austin.utexas.edu

  • Degree Requirements and Programs of Work
  • Graduation Requirements
  • Format of Theses, Reports, Treatises, and Dissertations
  • Applications for Master's Graduation and Doctoral Candidacy
  • Doctoral Degree Candidate Forms
  • Extensions of 6-year Time Limit for Courses
  • Transfer of Coursework from other institutions for use towards Master's degrees
  • Scheduling of Final Oral Examinations
  • In Absentia Registration
  • Petitions for Changes in Master's and Doctoral Supervisory Committees

William Crain

William Crain
Degree Evaluator
512-232-3628
williamc@austin.utexas.edu

  • Degree Requirements and Programs of Work
  • Graduation Requirements
  • Format of Theses, Reports, Treatises, and Dissertations
  • Applications for Master's Graduation and Doctoral Candidacy
  • Doctoral Degree Candidate Forms
  • Extensions of 6-year Time Limit for Courses
  • Transfer of Coursework from other institutions for use towards Master's degrees
  • Scheduling of Final Oral Examinations
  • In Absentia Registration
  • Petitions for Changes in Master's and Doctoral Supervisory Committees
  • Master's Clearance List
  • Master's and Doctoral Degrees Conferred lists

Rachel Manning

Rachel Manning
Senior Administrative Associate
512-232-3617
rmanning@austin.utexas.edu

Julie Meyer

Julie Meyer
Director, Graduate Student Academic Services Office
512-232-3607
julie.meyer@austin.utexas.edu

Julie Meyer

Molly Miller
Administrative Assistant
512-232-3619
molly.miller@austin.utexas.edu

  • Receptionist
  • Mail
  • Supplies

Julie Meyer

Bob Penman
Thesis and dissertation template and technical support
512-475-9365
bpenman@austin.utexas.edu

  • Thesis and dissertation template and technical support
  • Degree evaluation support
  • Maintenance of Blackboard site for Graduate Advisers & Coordinators Guide
  • Workshops and training for graduate students
  • Systems administrator
  • Assist the office staff with computer hardware problems

Julie Meyer

Karoline Spence
Administrative Assistant
512-232-3622
k.spence@austin.utexas.edu

  • Student Services administrative support
  • Inventory
  • Graduate School Imaging processes
  • Back-up Receptionist

INFORMATION FOR

vertical line

INFORMATION ABOUT